Elizabeth Donato
4 min readFeb 24, 2021

--

Fantastic job Vincent. In my eyes what you did was apply what you learned. I can read 10,000 books but the question is what did, I read that, I am going to apply?

I agree with #1. I thought that if, I made a lot of decisions daily, I was being productive but instead, I got burned out & overwhelmed. So, I learned to break things down into baby steps.

  1. I decide what, I want for breakfast the night before & I prep the ingredients the night before. I know I am a walking Zombie so, I keep my breakfast simple ex; overnight oats, just add a scoop of oatmeal, some milk, water, sweetneter of choice (mine is Date Syrup), Chia, Hemp seeds, Flax & Coconut butter. It’s just a dump it all in fest. Them I put my fresh fruit on the side & in the morning, I heat up just the oatmeal and bam! Done!

3. I want to make sure, I exercise so, I decided that, I just need to move for at least 15 minutes so that’s doing anything, I want. Today, I walked up & down my driveway. Tomorrow maybe, I won’t feel good so, I will walk around my table or my island. I just need to move!

#2 was also a BIG ISSUE for me. I love to write & I love checking things off so, I decided to break it down into a way that, I will remember.

SSCD

Super important
Sorta of important

Can wait

Do it later

In his book “Eat that frog" 🐸 a book about procrastination & international best seller. The author “Brian Tracy" said something very simple " Eat your biggest frog first" it’s such a simple process, I taught it to my kids when they were 5 and 6 . When you do your most difficult task first you feel accomplished & everything else feels trivial.

#3. I read Atomic habits the “get to" perspective makes it feel more like a reward & I have learned to appreciate the things that “I get to do" & I also follow his advice on making “queue’s as obvious as possible” — I have my sneakers by my nightable or by my sink. A simple reminder that, I have to keep moving.

#4. Dale Carnegie is my favorite author of all time & I was fortunate to take some of his courses in NYC & there is no doubt that a person loves to hear their name. I am in sales & I am always very focused on repeating the customer’s names often.

At the Dale Carnegie school, I learned a funny exercise. I will use the name Hanna to demonstrate. If I want to remember it, I say it a few times & then, I associate it with something silly like “Hanna likes to eat bananas" 😂. I even use the method to remember places (I am horrible with directions) forget maps. I use a “landmark" that, I am interested in like “Starbucks."

One of his quotes which sits on my desk is “You can make more friends in two months by becoming interested in other people than you can in two years by trying to get other people interested in you."

#5. Don’t be a Donkey 🐴

Love it! My Grandparents had a farm & this reminded of the lazy Donkey we had not to mention stubborn and hardheaded like a coconut. I remember trying to ride on him as a kid & he refused to move hahaha!

Last but not least “mise en place" who knew, I was already doing this. I cannot start cooking without having all of my ingredients, pots and utensils all prepared. Looks like, I have the potential to be a chef.

Super article! Loved it and thanks for all the books you listed. I have a lot to read 🙂.

By the way. You reminded me of so many great things that, I will be shamelessly stealing from you. You have inspired me to write an article Vincent Carlos about the things, I do to make my life easier. I will be sure to tag you. Thanks for this!

--

--

Elizabeth Donato

I am a Certified Health Coach, Mentor, and Sales expert. I teach others how to embrace fearlessness, love who they are & learn to live their best life.